Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Main: Research Support

Literature Review/Database Search Request

If you need assistance with conducting literature review(s) or searching various biomedical databases, please contact the Library by emailing usn.nmcsd-library@mail.mil . A Medical Reference Librarian is available to assist you with your research.

Please provide your personal details and information on the following aspects as outlined below:

Type of search

  • The requests for information needed for immediate patient care have top priority. If such information is required ASAP, please in addition to emailing your search request also call the Library at 619-532-7950

            Please indicate in your email:          

  • If you simply require a few recent & relevant articles on a clinical problem /research topic 
  • If you require a more extensive search of the literature  
  • If this is an IACUC search  

Search Topic / keywords

  • A clear description of the clinical decision / problem / research topic will help the librarians to search more effectively.
  • Any keywords and synonyms (particularly for technical terms) you provide will also help.
  • If possible/desirable, provide citations for a couple of key citations on the topic that you already have.

Restricted to...

  • If you are interested in only a specific age range of the population, gender, etc. that is not obvious from the topic description please state this.
  • Restrictions could also include type of study (e.g. systematic reviews, RCT etc.)
  • If you are interested in only specific databases/search engines to be searched please let us know.

Other points to note

  • The date range for the retrieved references (search back to what year) if this is important.
  • The accepted languages (English is selected by default, please let us know if you are interested in any other languages)
  • The date by which you require the completed literature search.
  • The completed literature search will comprise text documents of references with links that may take you to the full-text or it will consist of separate emails with results from databases.

 

EndNote

EndNote is a software tool for creating bibliographies and managing references.

EndNote Basic is a web-based version of EndNote available to NMCSD staff as part of the library subscription to the Web of Science database. This version has thousands of styles and hundreds of filters and connection files. EndNote Basic users can create an online library with a maximum of 50,000 references and up to 2GB of attachments.

To create an EndNote Basic account:

1. Click the  Web of Science link (Under "Databases")

2. On the Web of Science page, click on Products on the top right, then Endnote.

3. Under "Not a Member Yet?" click on "Register"  and follow instructions.

4. Sign in with the username and password you just created

5. To use the Cite While You Write Plug-in on your work computer please contact our local IMD for install. 

Once registered, to access EndNote Basic  when NOT onsite, you will need to access via EndNote Remote Access link from the Databases menu and sign in with your EZ Remote Access account.  When onsite, you can go directly to: http://www.myendnoteweb.com

Consider signing up for an online class or view tutorials on how to use EndNote Basic.

Documentation and tutorials:

Disclaimer

Disclaimer: The appearance of external hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the United States Department of Defense of the linked web sites, or the information, products, or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Morale, Welfare and Recreation (MWR) sites,the United States Department of Defense does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations. All links are provided consistent with the mission of the NMCSD Library Services.